Rotterdam Metro Map

The Rotterdam Metro is run by Rotterdam municipal city transport company RET (Rotterdamse Elektrische Tram) and RandstadRail. The metro offers an extensive network for travel around the greater Rotterdam area.

The Rotterdam Metro first opened in 1968 and now has 5 lines (A-E) with 70 stations. There are 167 metro vehicles in use including articulated express trams and light rail trains. Line E run by RandstadRail connects Rotterdam and The Hague.

Rotterdam Metro Map

We have developed our own version of the Rotterdam Metro map here which has some places of interest marked including Rotterdam Central Station, Rotterdam-The Hague airport (RTM), Ahoy Rotterdam arena, Feyenoord Stadium and Hoek van Holland ferry port. Our map also feature NS (Dutch Railways) train lines.

The Rotterdam metro and rail map is here:

rotterdam metro map

The Line B extension to Hoek van Holland Haven opened in 2019 and replaced the rail line which was previously serviced by NS Sprinter trains. A new metro station at Hoek van Holland Strand (beach) opened in 2023. A Stena Line ferry service runs between Hoek van Holland and Harwich in UK.

ret rotterdam metro train seats line b
RET Rotterdam metro train seats (line B)
hoek van holland strand station
Hoek van Holland Strand station

To get to Rotterdam-The Hague airport from Rotterdam Centraal station you should take RET bus line 33. This bus also serves the nearby Meijersplein station where airport travellers can connect to the metro if needed.

rotterdan metro train line E
Rotterdam metro train at Meijersplein station (line E)
rijnhaven metro station rotterdam
Rijnhaven metro station Rotterdam – excellent panoramic view from the platform

RET Tickets (2024)

There are a number of ticket options for travelling on the Rotterdam metro and transport network.

ret metro rotterdam line d train
RET Rotterdam metro train at Zuidplein station (line D)
  • OV-chip card/OVpay – travel using balance or credit/debit cards at €1.08 boarding fee plus €0.166 per km.
  • RET 2 Hour Ticket – €4.50
  • RET 1 Day Ticket – €9.50
  • RET 1 Day Ticket (Child) – €5.00 (ages 4-11)
  • Rotterdam Welcome Card – 1/2/3 days (€15.50/€21/€25.50) includes unlimited RET public transport and discounts on Rotterdam museums and attractions. Book Rotterdam Welcome Card
  • Tourist Day Ticket – €15.50 and valid on all transport in the South-Holland province. It covers travel to/from Alphen aan den Rijn, Delft, Den Haag, Dordrecht, Gouda, Lisse, Leiden, Op Voorne Putten, Rotterdam and Zoetermeer – but not Amsterdam. Transport providers include Arriva, Connexxion, EBS, HTM, HTMBuzz, Qbuzz, RET and Waterbus.

First published in 2020, last update 13 December 2023.

Links on may pay us an affiliate commission.

Back to top button